J A Leadership Summit

Washington, D.C.

For those involved in World War II internment site preservation efforts

Presented by: National J.A.C.L., Heart Mountain, Wyoming Foundation, Japanese American National Museum, Japanese American National Heritage Coalition, the Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, former U.S. Secretary of Transportation and the Honorable Alan K. Simpson, U.S. Senator (retired).

Plenary Session Moderator: Tanya Bowers, Director of Diversity, National Trust.

"Preservation, Interpretation, Education,” session was a discussion of the importance of remembering the WW II Japanese American experience, featuring former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Norman Mineta & retired U.S. Senator Alan Simpson.

"Overview: JA Confinement Sites Program:" by Jon Jarvis, National Park Service.

“Current Preservation Efforts: A Snapshot” by Floyd Mori & reports from various camp group representatives.

“Keys to Successful Fundraising” session by Doug Nelson, CEO, Annie E. Casey Foundation.

National Park Service Informal Question & Answer regarding the National Park Service JA Confinement Sites Grant Program with Kara Miyagishima.

Photo: L-R: Jon Villalobos, President, Poston Community Alliance, Inc., Marlene Shigekawa, Project Manager, Poston Community Alliance, Inc., with the Honorable Alan K. Simpson, U.S. Senator (retired) and Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, former U.S. Secretary of Transportation.

Marlene & Jon met with representatives from Congressman Raul M. Grijalva's office. His district is 2nd largest in Arizona, District 7, which also covers 7 sovereign nations: the Ak-Chin, Cocopah, Colorado River Indian Tribes, Gila River, Pascua Yaqui, Quechan, and Tohono... O'odham. District 7 has both the oldest reservation in Arizona as well as the newest.

Photo: Marlene Shigekawa with Jon Villalobos representing the Poston Restoration Project/Poston Community Alliance, Inc., with Congressman Raul M. Grijalva (Arizona)

                                  Photo: Marlene and Jon at the reception.

A reception was hosted by Congressman Mike Honda. Special recognition was given to members of Congress for their efforts in support of WWII internment camp preservation.

No comments: